Shire of Upper Gascoyne leaders receive Order of Australia Medals

Staff reporterMidwest Times
Former Upper Gascoyne Shire president Lachlan McTaggart.
Camera IconFormer Upper Gascoyne Shire president Lachlan McTaggart. Credit: Guy Magowan

Two men from the Shire of Upper Gascoyne have received Order of Australia Medals for services to local government.

Shire president Don Hammarquist and former Shire president Lachlan (Locky) McTaggart were recognised in this year’s Australia Day Honours List.

Both are also long-serving members of the Pastoralists and Graziers Association.

Pastoralists and Graziers Association president Tony Seabrook said the awards were “clear recognition of their years of their service and dedication”.

“This is a tremendous recognition for the outstanding contributions they have made over the years, not only to their regional communities but to Western Australia as well,” he said.

“On behalf of the Executive and members of the PGA, I offer each of them my warmest congratulations on receiving this national honour.”

Mr McTaggart stepped down as Shire president in late 2017 after two years in the role.

He was also a councillor for 39 years and deputy Shire president for 15 years.

Get the latest news from thewest.com.au in your inbox.

Sign up for our emails