Lancelin-Ledge Point have last laugh as they beat Cervantes in Central Midlands Coastal Football League final

Headshot of Reuben Carder
Reuben CarderMidwest Times
Action from the grand final.
Camera IconAction from the grand final. Credit: Supplied

Lancelin-Ledge Point have stunned a Cervantes side featuring Brent and Mark LeCras, winning by 27 points to take the Central Midlands Coastal Football League flag.

The Pirates won the grand final 10.7 (67) 5.10 (40) on Saturday.

The Pirates ran away with the game from the first quarter, taking a two-goal lead against the country footy powerhouses by the first siren, and never looked back. The Tiger Sharks got back within a goal by half-time but were left in the dust after the break as Lancelin-Ledge Point blew the lead out to nearly five goals in the third quarter.

The Tiger Sharks were playing in their 25th grand final since 1987 and have a remarkable record in deciders, winning 22 of their previous 24 attempts.

Their last three flags have been against Saturday’s opponents, who finished second on the ladder with a 9-4 record (and a draw).

Mark LeCras, a premiership hero with West Coast in 2018 and older brother Brent, who played more than 140 WAFL games with West Perth and was briefly on North Melbourne’s list, were in their first season back in country footy. The pair were cleared to Cervantes late in the season and kicked a bag of goals to close out the home-and-away fixtures.

Mark LeCras kicking for Cervantes.
Camera IconMark LeCras kicking for Cervantes. Credit: Pictures: Jason G Harris Photography

Both Cervantes and Lancelin had knocked off minor premiers Moora, who went out in straight sets, to earn their spot in the grand final at Cervantes Sports Precinct.

Former East Fremantle jet Jacob Green, the nephew of West Coast great John Worsfold, was best-afield in the Tiger Sharks’ 41-point preliminary final triumph over the Mavericks last Saturday.

Green booted four goals from the midfield with playing-coach Lewis Harvey (three), Ben Watson and evergreen veteran Brent LeCras (two apiece) also hitting the scoreboard.

Daniel Frost, former West Perth midfielder Mitch Van Berlo and Gus Devitt were also among the best. Former West Coast rookie and Subiaco on-baller Adam Cockie was Moora’s best, while Oliver McDonald kicked a team-high three majors.

Late last month, Moora’s Kurt Tanner was awarded the J.J. Lussick Medal as the competition’s fairest-and-best player.

Get the latest news from in your inbox.

Sign up for our emails