Geraldton doctor Ian Taylor wins WA rural health accolade

Midwest Times
Dr Ian Taylor.
Camera IconDr Ian Taylor. Credit: Supplied

The State Government has named Geraldton doctor Ian Taylor the best rural GP in the 2019 WA Country Doctors’ Awards.

Dr Taylor won both the overall Chairman’s Award and GP Proceduralist of the Year.

Dr Taylor moved to Geraldton in 1984, only intending to stay for a few years.

His longevity in local obstetric and anaesthetic care means he has delivered two generations of babies.

Several other local doctors received long-service awards at the ceremony.

Get in front of tomorrow's news for FREE

Journalism for the curious Australian across politics, business, culture and opinion.


Doctors Thomas Buckley, Raymond Cockerill and Aubrey Francis were recognised for 40 years of service to bush care, while Dr Katherine Templeman received a 20-year service award.

The awards were presented on Saturday night.

Get the latest news from thewest.com.au in your inbox.

Sign up for our emails